Browse Our Directory

Directory of masonic orders that operate in Victoria, Australia.


Societas Rosicruciana In Anglia – Rosicrucian Society of Freemasons

Brief History

The modern Masonic Societas Rosicruciana is based upon the writings and philosophy of the mediaeval Fraternities of the Rosy Cross and the ‘Foundation Stones’ of Rosicrucianism, the Fama Fraternitatis and the Confessio Fraternitatis.

It must be stated, from the outset, that there is no documentary evidence of links between the mediaeval Fraternities and the present-day Societas Rosicruciana in Anglia (SRIA).

There is, however, somewhat tenuous evidence that societies calling themselves Rosicrucians probably existed from the 17th century onwards; but whether they continued to profess the ideals set out in the Fama is problematical. Early freemason, Elias Ashmole (b.1617), was identified a number of times with the Rosicrucians, although never admitted to such membership.

The first certain date in SRIA history is 31 December 1866, on which day two prominent English freemasons, William James Hughan and Robert Wentworth Little, were admitted to the first two grades of a Societas Rosicruciana [in] Scotia at a meeting in Edinburgh.

These fratres rose rapidly through the grades in subsequent months, and Hughan received a patent to establish the Society in England from the Scottish Magus, Anthony Oneal Haye.

An inaugural meeting was held at the Grand Hotel, Aldermanbury, London, on 1st June 1867 at which Frater Little and six other Masons were present, and the Rosicrucian Society of England was founded.

In the absence of any evidence to the contrary, it has to be assumed that the six Masons were declared in the grade of Zelator as no ceremony would have been possible.

At this inaugural meeting Frater Little was elected Master-General, but on the summons for the next meeting he is shown as ‘Supreme Magus and M.W. Master-General’, so it is apparent that he assumed the title of Supreme Magus.

The Society then settled into work in a small number of ‘informal’ Colleges, although the first warrants were not issued until 1874, when the London College was officially warranted as Metropolitan College, number 1, and the senior fratres established a High Council to govern the Society, which progressed and grew in a more orderly fashion thereafter.


There are nine grades in the Society, arranged
into three Orders:

I – Zelator
II – Theoricus
III – Practicus
IV – Philosophus
V – Adeptus Minorus
VI – Adeptus Majorus
VII – Adeptus Exemptus
VIII – Magister
IX – Magus

These nine Grades are organised into three Orders: Grades I-IV constitute the First Order and progression within this Order is the responsibility of the individual Colleges; Grades V-VII constitute the Second Order and progression within this Order is the responsibility of the Provinces; Grades VIII-IX constitute the Third Order and advancement within this Order is the sole responsibility of the Supreme Magus.

The fratres in the First Order are considered learners, fratres in the Second Order are considered teachers, and fratres in the Third Order are considered the leaders of the Society.

Progress within any of the three Orders of the Society is not automatic. Unless a Frater is ready to serve the Society he cannot expect advancement beyond the First Order of Grades.


The aim of the Society is to afford mutual aid and encouragement in working out the great problems of Life, and in searching out the Secrets of Nature; to facilitate the study of the system of Philosophy founded upon the Kabbalah and the doctrine of Hermes Trismegistus, which was inculcated by the original Fratres Rosae Crucis, AD 1450, and to investigate the meaning and symbolism of all that now remains of the wisdom, art and literature of the ancient world.

The Society is a ritual-based research fraternity, with emphasis on research, and in consequence, fratres are encouraged to present papers/talks on a wide variety of subjects.

The aim of the Society is therefore pursued through the ceremonials of the Grades of the Society, through personal study and reflection, and through participation in discussions in Colleges.


The Society is led by a Supreme Magus, supported by two Substitute Magi and his High Council.

The Colleges are aggregated into Provinces, where practical, and these are led by a Chief Adept, supported by his Suffragan and Provincial Council.

The Colleges, which meet regularly for the grade ceremonies and for the ‘great work’, are under the direction of a Celebrant, supported by his Exponent and other officers.

The SRIA has Provinces and Colleges in a number of regions of the world, including: throughout England and Wales, across Canada, France, Netherlands, New Zealand and Australia: Victoria (including Demiurgus College, No. 3, the firs College warranted outside England, in 1886), Queensland, Western Australia and South Australia.

The SRIA has, since the foundation of the Society, enjoyed close fraternal relations with the Societas Rosicruciana in Scotia (Scotland), which has Colleges across Scotland, in Hong Kong, Finland, and also in Australia: New South Wales and Tasmania.

Fratres of both Societies are warmly encouraged to visit each other’s Colleges.


The SRIA requires that every Aspirant must be a Master Mason in good standing and must adhere to the fundamental principles of the Christian Faith.


Fratres wear a jewel of special significance, the colour of the ribbon appropriate to each frater’s grade within the Society.

Celebrants, Past Celebrants and High Councillors also wear robes appropriate to their rank or office.

Province of Victoria

Provincial Website:

Masonic Qualifications for Membership: Craft Master Mason

Demiurgus College (21.1.1886) Preston

Meeting: 4th Wednesday in February, April, June, & October at 7:30 pm.
Installation: February

Thomas Vaughan College (14.10.1946) Oakleigh

Meeting: 1st Thursday in March, May, July, & November at 7:30 pm.
Installation: March

Aquinas College (1.7.1991) Belmont

Meeting: 1st Thursday in April, June, October & December at 7:30 pm.
Installation: April

AS Williams College (29.7.1995) Belgrave

Meeting: 2nd Saturday in March, May, September & November at 12 Noon.
Installation: September.

St Christopher College (18.10.1997) Sunshine West

Meeting: 2nd Thursday in February, April, August & October at 7:30 pm.
Installation: October.